In college basketball, one always wonders that if we put one great championship team against another, who would win? That’s an age old question that will never be answered, because no college team ever comes back the same each year. Players leave, often to play professional basketball in the NBA or internationally, and teams have new faces each year.

We each have that one favorite college championship team which we always bring up every time the aforementioned question is asked. In this post, we decided bring back some memories and do a rundown on the 5 best college basketball championship teams of the past decade.

5- UNC (2005)

You probably won’t recognize any of the names of players from the 2005 UNC championship team – none of them have had stellar careers. In 2005, they became the talk of town, beating Illinois in the final. Many people didn’t think that these talented individuals could play as a team and win a champion, but they defied the odds en route to another UNC championship team.

4- Kansas (2008)

Kansas was probably not the best team all throughout the 2007-08 season, but it always remained in the conversation as the ‘possible’ champion. A team that had no All-Americans got a hero when they needed one, in the form of Mario Chalmers. Chalmers hit the biggest shot in Jayhawks history, a three-pointer with 2.1 seconds remaining in regulation to tie the game. And the overtime they defeated the Derrick Rose led Memphis team.

3- Florida (2006-7)

The best player in those great Florida Gators championship teams was Joakim Noah; he practically carried the team through to two championships. First in 2006, when they won against UCLA and the second in 2007, when they beat the great Ohio State team led by one of the best college basketball players of 2007, Greg Oden.

2- Kentucky (2012)

Led by the “The Brow” – then known as Anthony Davis – the Wildcats reached an impressive 38-2 record in the season. They held the top spot most of the season, all the way through to the finals. The met a good Kansas team in the final and defeated them 67-59.

1- UNC (2009)

The 2009 UNC championship team was special; the team was led by a fiery Tyler Hansbrough and a talented guard Ty Lawson. The 2009 Tar Heels were so dominant that they won their games with an average of 20.2 points per game. And their domination continued all the way to the way to the finals, beating a Blake Griffin led Sooners team and a great Villanova team. They met Michigan State in the final and never gave them a chance to come into the game.

Do you think this year will have any historic champions? Get your March Madness 2015 bracket and wait for the excitement to begin on March 17th.